fun week.

So last week I said that I would be training, and I will be, but my Anak (child/trainee) is sick and will be at the MTC for a few weeks to recover. I am being transferred to San Pablo 3 and my new companion will be Sis. Atata, she is from Kirabati. The Lord really likes to give my the Pacific Islanders. 🙂 Sis Atata and I will be companions for a few weeks and she will show me the area and then when my anak comes Sis Atata will transfer to a new area and I will begin training again. The Lord really knows what he is doing. When I found out that I was going to be training and reopening an area I just felt really tired, and I know that the Lord provides a way for us to accomplish what he asks of us, but part of me was really dreading it. But now, I’m just going to be training, because Sis Atata knows the area we will not be "reopening". I am so grateful for how things have turned out. I’m not saying I’m glad my trainee is sick, in fact I’m sad about that, but I am glad that the Lord understands my limitations. 🙂

There was one day this week that was really great for compliments. There was a tricycle driver who asked us if we wanted a ride, we said no, he drove away about 20 feet, then he stopped, looked back and shouted, "I LOVE YOU!" then he drove away really fast. There was another tricycle driver and he just kept saying how beautiful I am. And he asked if I had a Boyfriend, I said Yes (Hehehehe not true) and he asked, "Is he as beautiful as you are?" and I said, "Oo, sobrang maganda siya" ,"Yes, he is very beautiful". He was so disappointed I kinda felt bad for the guy, but I’ve found that things are easier if I just say I have a Boyfriend, it puts an end to anything that might potentially become creepy. Then there was another guy! We stopped at a little bakery to buy some pandesal and one of the workers came out of the back, he saw me, stopped, stared for a second, then he said,"Wow." hahahahaha. It really just made my day. Super funny, super flattering, super awesome. 🙂

This last Saturday we had a baptism. Her name is Jessica. I can’t even adequately explain the feelings that I had when she came up out of the water. I was so happy for her, the Spirit was so strong, I felt like I was going to cry. It was Amazing! haha, The first thing she said to me was, "Well, I’m a Mormon now!" She was confirmed the following day in sacrament meeting, and I experienced the same feelings again. I am so humbled and grateful to have been a part of her conversion experience.

All in all It’s been a great week. We got to go to San Pablo for the "Trainers Training Meeting" (geez, that’s a mouthful). And we had curfews several nights this week because of local elections and Halloween and All souls day. So three nights with a curfew, because the locals really like to drink for these occasions. So we stayed in, we cooked, we talked, we laughed, we had fun.

I hope you all had a wonderful week too. Love you! Miss you! San Pablo Mission is the best!

~Sister Mary Christina Cox

cox.mary

Leave a Reply

