busy, busy,busy… I’m out of my mind, feel free to leave a message.

Interesting and busy week. On of last week, after emailing, but before shopping, we got a call and were told to pack our things and that we were moving to a new apartment. So we got home and started packing around 4 and we we had everything, (refrigerator, tables, desks, literally everything) moved into our new apartment by around 8 p.m. So we had to end up doing our shopping on Tuesday instead.

Wednesday was Zone Conference. I got to give a talk and got to sing a song. The talk was on effectively using and introducing the Book of Mormon. It sounds funny but sometimes we have to be sneaky with introducing the Book of Mormon, we almost have to make the investigators think that it’s their idea to read instead of just inviting them straight out. So we explain what the BOM is and where it came from and what it’s about and then we read from it and "liken" the scripture unto their lives. It helps them to realize that the BOM is relevant to their life and that it might be a good idea for them to read it. Giving the talk really opened me up to receive a lot of personal revelation but I think I ended up receiving the most personal revelation from the opportunity to sing. We sang, "Windows to His Love." I got to sing the solo and then three other sisters sang with and did the trio and I just joined in on the alto part. The song is just beautiful. It talks about being a window to God’s love, being pure and clear so people see through you and see him. Really it just describes the kind of missionary that I want to be. If you have the chance to look it up on youtube you totally should because it is amazing.

The rest of Zone Con was great too. I really love listening to our Mission President’s talk. He is always so inspiring. He talked about using the Atonement in our lives and it was beautiful.

Then on Friday and Saturday we had a ward open house. We were asked to be there as much as possible so all of the visitors would get a chance to meet the missionaries right at the beginning of the tour. We have been planning for this open house for over a month. We had lots of meetings and ideas and somehow it all came together nicely. We had a lot of invitations printed up and we were passing them out to random people and to all of our investigators. In the end we had over 40 people show up. I know that sounds like such a small number but we were so grateful. This ward has tried to do an open house before and they only had about 5 people show up over a two day period. So this time is was considered very successful. We were so excited when one of our investigators showed up. When we invited her she straight up said, no I will not come, and then she did! SURPRISING!!! We were so blessed for this open house.

On Sunday I injured myself. I was walking briskly in the chapel… ok so I was running, and I hit my little toe of my right foot on one of the pews. It happened right before sacrament meeting, and by the end of the meeting my toe was rather swollen, by the end of Gospel Principles Class it was more swollen, and by the end of Relief Society there was a lovely large bruise starting to form on my toe and on the top of my foot. Needless to say, it hurts. Walking is kinda painful right now. Wearing appropriate missionary shoes is painful. I’ve got my toes taped together and I’m hoping it all turns out fine. But I learned my lesson, Do Not Run in the Chapel. GEEZ SISTER COX! WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?!

We had a good, busy, rewarding, enlightening week. I hope you all had a wonderful week as well. And if you didn’t, I’m sorry. Apply the Atonement in your life and remember that the Savior has been there, he understands, and he will always help you if you ask him.

I love you all. I hope you are all doing well.

~Sister Mary Christina Cox

cox.mary

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

2 thoughts on “busy, busy,busy… I’m out of my mind, feel free to leave a message.

  1. It’s fun to see how you’re involved in your work. When missionaries bear their testimonies with enthusiasm in their letters, then I think they’re pretty much into what they’re doing. I love that part … it takes a little while but then the missionaries just can’t help themselves. I see it with the elders we get brand new here. Except Elder Dodge who came to us from Cache Valley. He was already in the humble-shoulder-to-the-wheel mode when he got here.

  2. sister cox. I love reading your posts and can see that you are enjoying the experiences. I wonder how you are when I hear of typhoons and such in the Phillippines an other places nearby. I know that the Lord is taking care of you and that you will be safe but I still worry. I guess I am just a worry wart! Now you know why your mother told you not to run in the chapel. 🙂 Please enjoy you mission.

Leave a Reply

