May sakit ako.

HELLOOOOOO people of the normal world. How are you all? I hope you are just wonderful! So the loose translation of May Sakit ako is "I’m sick!" Ok I’m actually not sick anymore, but it sounds more dramatic if I say I am. 🙂 So the week started out great, I had a temperature, a headache and was rather nauseated. I slept for almost the whole day, then a whole night and I felt much better on Wednesday. Then on Wednesday we had zone meeting. I like Zone Meetings. We really focused on good planning and goal setting. Honestly, if every person were to plan like missionaries are supposed to plan, and then followed the plan, there would be a lot of successful people.

So Fun story for you. A drunk tricycle driver tried to give us a ride the other night. We had just got done visiting a member. And one of the guards outside the subdivision called over a tricycle for us. We watched the guy get tipsily onto his motorcycle and then drove wobbly over to us. He started drive slow, squiggly circles around us and he asked in slurred English ,"Whhheeerreee aaarreee youuuuu gooooooooing?" we told him where we lived and he looked really confused and said ,"Wheeeerrreee’sssss Thaaaat?" At this point I said," are you drunk?" and he responded with ,"Yessssss. Buuuut I’mmmmm OOOOOOOk tooo Drivvve. Reeaaaalllyyy." Sister Taobure was about to climb in and I grabbed her and said, "Thanks but we’ll walk." The guard got a pretty good laugh out of it.

This week has probably week the longest week for me since I’ve been here. I was sick and then one of the other sisters in our apartment was sick. She is newer than I am here and she doesn’t know much Tagalog or English so when she had to go to the hospital my companion had to go with her because they are from the same country and speak the same language. She’s been having a rough time, the other sick sister, she is actually at the Missionary Recovery Center in Manilla right now to find out exactly what is wrong and what needs to be done to fix it. She has been sleeping a lot and get tired really easily, making it pretty much impossible to work. Her companion is going to be in a trisome companionship with us until the sick sister returns and is able to work. Watching this other sister struggle has really made me grateful for my health, which is usually pretty good. One funny side note about Philippine culture, If you are sick, menstruating, or injured in any way (sprained ankle or other appendage) You are told not to shower! GROSS!!!! Whenever I have a headache my companion always tells me not to shower and I found out that one of the new sisters doesn’t shower when menstruating because a doctor told her that the cold water could make her go into shock and die. Ano Ba Yan?!?! oh my gulay, these people are so strange sometimes.

We also got to do exchanges with the Sister Training Leaders this week. It was awesome, they really helped us with our planning abilities. And I’m super excited to see how much it will help our work. Our teaching pool is pretty much dead, it seems like we teach the same people every week with very few changes, but we are supposed to have a teaching pool of about 40 people and it should always be changing and growing and I’m super excited for that to happen because I don’t feel like I’m reaching my full potential as a missionary. But I want to. I want to be the best instrument for the Lord that I possibly can be. Like I’ve said before, I am so grateful to be here. I am learning so much. I love you all, and I miss you. I hope you are all doing splendid and I love hearing from you, thank you for the emails. Remember to read and pray always. God Bless you all.

Sister Mary Christina Cox

cox.mary

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

Leave a Reply

