First week in the Field

So we left the MTC on monday morning and got to the Philippines around 11:30 at night on Tuesday. We stayed the night in Manila and then drove down to San Pablo, we had to wake up at 4:30 for the ride down, so we got just a couple hours of sleep. We just about died. 🙂 We stayed at the Mission home for the night and then left for our areas on Wednesday. It was hard to say Goodbye to all my sisters. My companion is Sister Taobure from Kiribati. She likes to speak english a lot which make it a little difficult to continue learning Tagalog but I am doing my best. I Love the people here. They are really funny. They are so honest. Everyone calls me fat. But they say it so nicely that I can help but laugh. And compared to them I am fat. Lots of them always tell me I am beautiful as well. Which, I’m not going to lie, I kinda like 🙂 haha. We were teaching an investigator about the law of tithing and he looked at me and said randomly, "you are not pretty, No… You are veeerrrrry beautiful." In the philippines there is no v in the alphabet so they use b instead. So what I hear was, "You are Beeerrrry Beautiful.” It made me laugh so hard. And I don’t get why they think I am beautiful, they are such a beautiful ethnicity. And their children are just gorgeous! It’s probably just because I am white. Sometimes tho, when I look at these people they make me think of the Native Americans. I swear I saw a little Philippina lady who looked just like my grandma.
The people here are so humble, some of them have next to nothing and live in huts out in the forest, others have concrete houses, only some of them have doors on their homes. When I saw these wonderful people it made me want to do everything I possibly could for them. I can’t give them money, I can’t buy them food, or clothing, or build them a home, but I can help them come closer to Jesus Christ.
And there is a common misconception about the philippino people. Everyone thinks they are short and skinny, well its true that most of them are short, but they come in all shapes and sizes just like everyone else in the world.
The shower was a different experience…. I’ll talk more about that some other time I’m just about out of email time. I hope you are all doing well and I hope you are remembering to read your scriptures. 🙂

Until Next Week.
Sister Mary Christina Cox

cox.mary

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

Leave a Reply

