Last week @ MTC

So happy Mother’s Day this last week to all you mothers out there. I was able to send letters home to my two mothers and I hope they got them… 🙂 I want to say thank you to all who have sent me letters and packages since I have been here, they were all greatly appreicated. We are leaving this next monday, its amazing how fast time goes by. If you still wish to send letters I will post the address and mailing instructions next week. And there is always the option to email. Love You all!
OK! So a lot has happened this past week. We got to listen to some rather remarakble talks and got to participate in some fun activities. Last Sunday in Relief Society we had the pleasure of listening to Sister Janice Kapp-Perry. For those of you who don’t know who she is, she is an amazing woman with lots of musical talent. She has arranged and composed many many songs. Some of them that members might be familar with are "As sisters in Zion" and "A Child’s Prayer". As sisters in zion she just wrote the music not the lyrics, but the does write both. And she wrote new lyrics to the As Sisters in Zion tune, she wrote about sister missionaries and we were the first group to get to sing it. It was a beautiful song and I almost started crying.
Shane Littlefield came and spoke to us for the sunday devotional and he was trying to help us understnad that the culture of a mission depends on us. What kind of Mission culture are we working for? One of service? One of Hope? One of complaining? One of happiness? It really got us thinging and realizing that our attitudes affect so much of this experience.
And my favorite talk this whole week was given at the Tuesday evening devotional. Russel M. Nelson and his wife came to speak with us. He was the second apostal we have had since we have been here and we were so glad that he came for our final tuesday devo. I loved listening to him and his wife. Sis. Nelson said: "Pray to be led to those who’s ancestors are praying for us. People beyond the veil want their work done and are pleading for their posterity to recieve the gospel." It seems a little convoluded at first but when you really think about it its a beautiful statement. Elder Nelson spoke about a lot of things. Some of the things that I really liked were, "Be obedient to the laws and commandments throughout your life and you will be blessed", "Have Character, Don’t be one", "We are the link between who people are and who they can become", "Have a ‘How can I help you’ attitude", and "Abide by the lessons in Preach My Gospel for the rest of your lives." I felt like most of this advise applied to everyone not just missionaries. And if you haven’t read preach my gospel then you totally should. There are so many wonderful lessons in it that can bless the lives of everyone.
So one of the fun things we got to do this week was to help train teachers in the Philippines MTC. It was done over web cam. Our teacher, Brother Langer, was really the teahcer and we were just demonstrating what he told taught us. It was pretty awesome. It was the first time that a training was done like that and we all felt very lucky to be a part of that.
This last week was probably the hardest week for me. Tuesday was an esspcially difficult day for me. Sometimes the things I say are indelicate, I say things that I think or as I see them and it can sometimes be recieved in a abrasive way and that is something that I have always struggled with. And it was something that I really wanted to work on when I got here. And I felt like I was doing better. And then in class, some of the sisters asked for my help and I was helping them and I was getting a little impatient with them but I was trying very hard to help them, and one of our elders called me out in front of the class and said, "Sister Cox, You need to be nicer to them, you can’t say things like that." And I felt like I had made no improvement whatsoever. I felt like I was a failure, and to top it off I was a little embarrassed because he said it in front of the whole class. I was already feeling a little down because I don’t recieve much in the way of mail and sometimes I feel lonely. So when he said that I just about broke down. I didn’t say much for the rest of the day, I felt like it was better to stay silent than to say what was on my mind and end up saying something that I would really regret. So I was silent and alone with my thoughts and I felt my self and my spirit slipping into unhappiness and self doubt. One of the sisters in my district took me aside and we talked for a while and I did break down. I hadn’t realized how alone I felt until that moment. I don’t open up easily and I don’t share my life with others readily and as a result I was excluding myself from the wonderful group of sisters surrounding me. And when I was able to talk with this one sister it made me feel a little better. Then we went to the devotional and as soon as Elder Nelson came into the room I felt my spirit lift just a little more. But the real comfort and lifting came later that evening when I was kneeling down to say my personal night time prayer. I prayed for comfort and almost immediately I felt my Savior’s love flooding through me. I was so overcome that I started to cry with relief. I know that our Heavenly Father is aware of us and that he can help us with anything that we might be struggling with, we just need to ask for his help.

I hope you all have a wonderful week,
~Sister Mary Christina Cox
cox.mary

Shout out to my mom! Thanks for the packages! And I also want to thank you for teaching me to chew with my mouth closed, there are so many people here who don’t have table manners and it drives me up the wall. But I am greatful to have learned them from you!

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

One thought on “Last week @ MTC

  1. Christy, I am sorry that you are feeling lonely. I know how that feels and it can get you down. I have felt loneliness during my life. I remember one time our relief society president in college had secretly asked our mothers to write a letter to their daughters. On a given Sunday, they told us what they had done. Mom Heaton did not write letters often so I was disappointed because I could not imagine receiving a letter. Lo and behold, I got a letter from Mom. It was the most glorious moment! I do not recall exactly what she said in the letter but I do recall that Mom spent time writing a special letter to me. Special moments like that keep you going when things get down. You have been comforted by the Lord all your life going through the experiences you have had. Keep in mind and share the compassion in your heart with those who are lonely and seeking the comfort that you so readily receive from Heavenly Father. I love you and wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

