Three and a half weeks… What?!

Kumusta po Kayo?! (How are you)
I can hardly believe we have been here three and a half weeks already. It’s crazy to think about. We are all trying to immerse ourselves in our language. We do this thing called SYL which stands for Speak Your Language. I carry my grammer book, dictionary, and a small notebook with me everywhere so I feel comfortable enough to make sentences. And if I don’t know how to say it, I write it down in English and figure out how to say it in Tagalog. We also teach lessons to "investigators" in Tagalog and every week we get to talk to other people in Tagalog for practice. It’s difficult but it’s easier is everyone is doing it. Haha that sounds bad. Everyone is doing it… so should you!
So I don’t have any totally awesome spiritual stories this week but I do have stories. There are several Samoan Elders who are in my district, and it would appear that most of them rather like me. One of them told me he loved me and that he wants me to be his girlfriend. And while I was flattered that he would single me out, I had to turn him down. I am not looking for a relationship right now and he shouldn’t be either. So ya that was fun.
And somehow I keep getting injuries. Small ones. But injuries still. While playing Volleyball I did something to the first knuckle on my right hand. There is a rather beautiful bruise there. And I have spots of bruising on my right arm, also from volley ball. I have bruising and scabs on my knees and I rolled my left ankle the other day. And I have no idea where they came from but I have lots of little knicks and cuts on my arms and hands. It’s totally random.
So our estimated departure date is the 20th of May. We should be getting our travel plans at the end of next week. It’s crazy to think we only have 16 days left. I can’t believe the time is going by so fast, I can only imagine what the next 17 months will feel like.
And I just feel like saying that I am so greatful to be here. I love all of the sisters in my district, and I love our elders, they are truely amazing. I love that I can serve the Lord for a year and a half of my life, it seems like such a small price to pay for everything that he has given me in my life. I am greatful for the opportunity to learn a new language and to take the Gospel to the people in the Philippines. I feel very blessed every day. And every day here is a humbling experience where I learn so much about myself and it’s great. I do miss my family, but I know that they will be alright without me for a while.
Love you all, I will write again as soon as I can.
~Sister Mary Christina Cox

if you would like to write me you can @ cox.mary I would love to hear from you!

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

Leave a Reply

